The Power of a Praying Mother

photo 3

My angel, my Mommy.

Her work never ends and her concern for her children never stops.

Everything that I needed, she became. Even when daddy had to stay late to work, she made sure we never went without. She became he- without missing a step. And did it quite beautifully may I add. Cooking dinner, washing clothes, doing taxes and checking homework and then made sure she saved up enough energy to have bath and reading time before bed.

Many nights while I was asleep in my bed, she was on her knees praying to God above. Praying away the demons and asking the angels to watch over her two most precious jewels. She prayed me through me when I was less than what she knew God had called me to be. She knew my destiny and the purpose He placed inside of me. Patiently-she waited for me to discover it myself. She never doubted God and His plan, just stayed faithful in her ways. It’s amazing to me how selfless one can be. Before you birthed your own children, you raised three. You clothed them and taught them, made sure they had enough to eat. And somehow, when I was born, you still had more than enough love for me.

photo 2

Moments like these are my favorite. It’s very rare that a girl gets to call her mother her best friend.

But the way you love me is really what I adore about you. I know, although close to an angel, I wasn’t the easiest to deal with. I admit, I was a tad bit bratty and spoiled. But you were patient. You loved me past it. You loved me in spite of it. You just simply loved me. And that, in itself, was all that I could have asked for. You knew when it was right to fuss at me or let me figure it out on my own. You know when I need you to just sit and listen to the thoughts that are randomly running through my head. You taught me to think before I act and pray before I speak. You taught me to never settle for less than God’s best for me and demand respect by how I carried myself. You told me to keep my head held high and never let the world break me or make me doubt myself.  You taught me the importance of being comfortable in my solitude and making sure I took the time to celebrate me. Through the way you’ve lived your life, you’ve taught me that some things you may not want to do, but if people are depending on you, you have to. You’ve taught me selfless giving. And when I was struggling with my selfish, self-centered spirit, you taught me that life is never really about me but what I give to other people.

Everything that people love about me is because of you. You made me who I am today. Together- we will save the word lol.

I hear the love in your voice when you call me and tell me how much you miss me and want me to come back home to be your little baby. But in the same breath you say “but you’re a big girl and you’re transitioning out. I can’t stand in the way of you spreading your wings to fly.”

photo (2)

Waiting to eat on Mother’s Day.

I hate to admit it, but now I see the love in every time you disciplined me when I was younger. Then, I thought it was just because you hated me and wanted to make my life everything but pleasant, but I see now it was because you worked too hard and loved me too much to watch me be stupid.

I feel the love in your eyes when you look at me after a long day of you tirelessly working. Many times I ask you to do things out of my own selfish ways. Although you may not want to do it, you do. And that’s why I love you.

I see the love in each tear that crowds your eyes every time I drive off to go back to school after coming home to be with you for the weekend. And although you hate for me to leave, you know I have to go.

You’ve shown me the beauty of a strong woman who knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to go out and get it. You taught me how to be a leader. You taught me the importance of my relationship with God and my family. You have loved me unconditionally. You are my guardian angel and my best friend. You challenge me, you motivate me, you inspire me. I pray to God that one day, I can love a little girl the way you love me.

“I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always. As long as I’m living, my mommy you’ll be.”

Happy Mother’s Day!! -Your Scooter, Britt

Leave a Reply

